The Reaping

Every year thousands of young Americans (and students of other nationalities) say to themselves, “hey, I think I’m going to go to law school”. Are those students aware of the consequences of their decision? Some are, some are in for a giant surprise. I think that most of the “events” that happen in the law school process can be compared to the Hunger Games series and through this blog I’m going to try to do just that. Also, it’s much more fun to talk about it like this than sticking to the pure reality. So here it goes…

One part in every potential law student’s journey is the Reaping.

It’s that time when they put their name into all their desired institutions’ acceptance/rejection pools. The difference between us and children in Panem? We want our names to be picked. We want the chance to endure that special level of hell called 1L year.

My reaping process can be seen on my other blog (Finding Joy) but here are the highlights:

  • I applied to 10 law schools all over the country.
  • I was rejected by 2.
  • Accepted by 5, wait listed by 3, but then accepted by one of those.
  • I was offered over $200,000 in scholarships
  • After contemplating all my offers, I chose the University of Denver (no scholarship money, but I have my reasons)
  • I am so excited (and terrified, that’s normal, right?..I thought so)

Now that the reaping is over and the arena has been chosen I’m ready for the next part of the games.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

