I have never worked this hard.

Law school is a trip.

It’s definitely more of a sprinting marathon than either a sprint or a marathon alone.

Sure, you start off slower. To get warmed up and dream about a nice pace to keep, but then suddenly it’s like the tortoise and the hare. And nobody wants to be slow, so everyone starts sprinting (not to mention the course load makes you go faster too).

Part of me wonders if everyone will be able to keep up with the pace they’re going at now. I mean some people are there from 8 am to 6 pm just doing work, and to be honest I’m not sure we’ve had enough work yet to warrant that schedule.

Maybe it’s just me. I’m more of a deadline person. Give me a deadline and I’ll put in the work, whatever the time commitment required, to get the job done by the deadline. Possibly an hour before, but I probably won’t get it to you like a week before it’s due.

I’m a procrastinator. My legal research and writing professor told me and my fellow procrastinators not to worry as we are entering a field of procrastinators — the most common motion filed in the United States is a motion for continuance, because the lawyers just aren’t prepared on time.

However, like I said, I’m a deadline tribute. So I’m hoping I wouldn’t be a motion of continuance tribute because I slacked and didn’t get the work done on time.

Anyway, I’ve really gone off topic. But pulling it all together, I’m a procrastinator so I’m not used to accomplishing the same volume of work that I have in six weeks in any other semester of my academic career.

I started outlining for finals like three weeks ago. That is incredibly unlike me. In fact, I’m surprised any of my friends have believed me. I’m the “ok, let’s learn this” in the last 72 hours before an exam type tribute.

Law school is a trip.

And it’s definitely one you can’t get through without quite a bit of change in yourself and your habits.

Leave a Reply

